Identity Crisis


You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Song of Solomon 4:7 (ESV)


(1 Peter 3:3-4 ESV )Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God's sight is very precious.

It’s not hard to discover that so many teens are trying to find their self-image or who they truly are.  Everywhere you look, so many girls (even boys) are looking, seeking, and groping to find who they are inside. Whether it is through the TV, through a boyfriend or girlfriend, from money…everyone wants to know who they are. So many people wonder

Why am I here on this earth.

Am I an accident?  

Where do I go from here now that I’m in this world?

https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQBJKbHlkZYpCGMCrQKGgUdY9oACHJ0IwbhP23YkGoBGhV2IqVpiw

Yes, it’s an identity crisis that we teens have to battle with daily. I guess it’s just a part of growing up…yet sometimes we tend to look for our identity  in the wrong places instead of in Christ.  As girls, we are mostly controlled and moved more emotionally than boys. That’s how God made us. We feel, think, and react towards situations differently than guys. Feeling beautiful and loved are one of those situations that we  often think differently from. We girls tend to spend a lot of time in the mirror trying to manipulate, change or fix up our outer appearance yet we sometimes miss the main mark. I’m not saying that you can’t dress up in nice clothing and look pretty. I want you to try to look your best. We just don’t need to use our outward appearance to find our identity. I find that so true to believe in my own life. I don’t even have to use makeup or clothes to try to find my identity in others. It’s called a mask and I have found very rapidly that as teens we are pretty darn good at putting on good masks. And sometimes I still find myself putting on a mask.

But why? Why do we produce mask to conceal our true selves if we are still trying to find ourselves? That was a question I asked myself the other day. I’ll let you answer that on your own.(and if you want you can write your assumption in the comment box below) The reason I put on masks sometimes is to find approval in others instead of finding my approval https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSsUVwQyyfm2fUeCyv4UiR9SDx3RAWdVEBnltDpJOknYObf2CXCfrom the Lord. You see, I was never the “popular” girl or even gained any attention from others. I’m usually picked last in almost every sport (except dodgeball…because I’m terrified of having a ball smashing my face, so I’m a pretty good dodger). Many of you most likely have a similar story as me.  I was like a chameleon, changing my attitudes and the way I acted around certain people until I was left exhausted from deception.  At the end of the day, I was still  yearning for some the acceptance only to discover that I can only find that in Jesus.

I have finally come to realize that people don’t define me. They can call me a “weakling”, “stupid”, “a stick” and more, but Christ defines who I am and no one can change that. I do not remember how I finally came to that conclusion, I’m just glad He showed that to me. And guess what? God can do the same thing for you!  If you open up your heart to Him, read His love letter to you (the Bible), and talk to Him, trust me, God will whisper the most beautiful and intimate things that no boyfriend could ever whisper to you.

And this is what I found that I was in Him:

I am a Princess; I am the Child of the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords; I am Victorious! I am special and lovely in His eyes.

Let’s make God our identity and stop trying to find ourselves in others. All of this can apply to you if you are in Jesus. God is my identity now and He can be yours too. I still have those days when I find myself putting the mask back on, but I have to let it go and allow God to become my identity. To me, it seems like Christians are the main ones with the identity crisis, especially in the church. We pretend as if we have it all together when we are yet so broken and distressed. I guess we forget that the Church is the hospital for the weak, the broken, the sinner and the lost. This is where we get it all wrong. We lift our noses up to those who need our help the most and yet, who can blame us for not helping the needy when we are needy and desperate ourselves? If we have Christ in our lives why do we so desperately try to replace Him with worthless idols?

https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQdlfHWWVG9ln2z1dvokmBVug6eZzTBSBYwOaFTfkw2a3UqMtbENAMany of us have those days when we feel unloved, unwanted, alone, broken, distressed, and terribly insignificant. However, these lies leave so many teens my age into self-injury (cutting and suicide), broken hearts, into the arms of sex-addicts, into the web of empty promises of those who just want to suck the life and joy from your heart. No one  (and I repeat) NO ONE can ever fill your empty heart…not a boyfriend, not money, food, or drinks, not one night of pleasure will fulfill you.

But let me tell you this. You are SO much more than what people label you as. The mirror can never define you, the mocking of others cannot define who you truly are, and surely the media cannot define who you are and should be.  You have already been specifically picked and chosen by the Most High and He has already defined you as His Chosen One, His Child, His Bride, His beloved, His love, and…

His Girl

You may have heard this a million times (I know I have) and you probably have let this message go from one ear to another. But please hear me…YOU ARE SO MUCH MORE than who you think you are. I could scream that to the heavens if I could if it will change your mind! Don’t believe me?…why not hear it from the Lord Himself. Sure you may have made some terrible mistakes and you feel like there is no way out, you feel so dirty and unclean. You maybe assuming that God has already picked you out as a sinner, but wait and listen what God has said in Word about you:

 “But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” —Romans 5:8

There is nothing that you can do to keep the Lord from loving you. It makes such a difference in what you think of yourself once you know that the Most High God thinks that you are so special and wonderful no matter how unspecial and unworthy we may feel. Please understand and know that God loves you and He really does care about you. He knew you before you were even born and know your sins and transgressions even before you committed them. He knew that you would reject  Him yet He  still allowed His beloved and ONLY Son to die upon the cross for all of your  mistakes and blemishes. He did this so you can be made whole and become pure, clean, and blemish-free before Him one day.

Once you know who you are in Christ, no devil in hell and no person on this earth can ever take what God has placed on the inside of you. So go out and walk in freedom and love that God is now showering around you, even at this present moment.

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRtqq3J3KcUSr3NAQE7xfQBzHsXm-HadqpyU501aJnVIDEXC18y

Bible Verses for Today:

Psalm 139:13-14 (ESV)

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.

Isaiah 43:4 (ESV)

Because you are precious in My eyes, and honored, and I love you, I give men in return for you, peoples in exchange for your life

Jeremiah 29:11 (ESV)

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Psalm 139:14 (ESV)

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are Your works; my soul knows it very well.

8 thoughts on “Identity Crisis

    • hisprincess3 says:

      I’m so glad that this post blessed your soul. To God be the glory! That is my prayer that somebody might be blessed and encouraged through this “ministry”. I’m just excited that God is using me as His vessel to encourage others! God bless you 🙂

  1. Mae Bailey says:

    This so uplifting! Thanks for reminding us how much we are loved by God.
    Keep blessing our souls with these awesome posts.

    • hisprincess3 says:

      To God be the glory! I’m so excited that you are uplifted through this post. Everyone needs a little encouragement! I love sooooo much! 🙂

  2. Alex says:

    WOW!!! That’s such a(n) inspiring post…and I know, because I actually cried when I read this blog. Keep posting for the Lord.

    • hisprincess3 says:

      To God be the glory! Thank you for the encouragment! I’m so excited that this blessed somebody’s soul 🙂 Love you

So What Do You Think?

