Lies Girls Believe #2 ‘I’m Not Pretty Enough”


Lies Girls Believe #2 “I’m not pretty enough”

 Have you ever felt that way?

      The media has distorted the image of beauty so that it has left many girls depressed in their hearts, hoping they will find their worth through the world’s definition of “beauty”. I know how it feels when you’re compared to some hot super model on a magazine or a prettier girl in school. It makes you feel so plain and dull. I was a Christian, but I believed the lies of the enemy rather than the truth of God.  I am my worst critic. I remember gazing into the mirror with tears filling my eyes wondering if I would ever be pretty. Deep inside I was jealous of those girls who had such gorgeous skin, silky smooth hair and who could walk down the school halls as if they owned it. I constantly judged myself how I looked each day but I could never compete or add up to the standards. I was just the quiet girl with awkward M&M shaped glasses and dark, black skin. I either felt too fat or too skinny. Too tall or too short. I could never truly love and appreciate myself for who God made me because I was so caught up into lies of the enemy and I couldn’t see what God saw in me.

I forgot Who made me and who loved me unconditionally despite what I looked like. Rather, God was more focused on the condition of my heart rather than what conditioner I used for my hair. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t dress up or look pretty on the outside, but that shouldn’t be our main focus or drive in life. “Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” (Proverbs 31:30 ESV) The same amount of time we spend in the mirror we should be looking at the mirror of our hearts which is God’s Word. Beauty is only skin deep and is vain, but a Woman of God is the one who will be remembered in this life. 
God is a God of beauty. Everything He made is beautiful. And yes that includes you and me! So don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. It took a close and personal talk with God before I realized and believed that God made me in His image, not Hollywood’s. God crafted you and me for a purpose. So don’t be ashamed of how God designed you! We are all unique and original. God made no one alike (even twins are different). So rejoice, because you are fearfully and wonderfully made by the God who has a great eye for beauty. Oh, and by the way, you’re so not pretty.

You’re beautiful!!!! (Psalm 139:13-14)

 

So What Do You Think?

