Lies Girls Believe #3 “If I’m Not popular, Then I’m Nobody.”


   Lies Girls Believe #3

“If I’m Not popular, Then I’m Nobody.”

Galations 1:10 says, For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” 

We all desire to be wanted and accepted by others, however, so many feel that their worth is based someone else’s opinions or a popularity scale. Popularity is fickle like the wind. You may be “in” one day and rejected the next. We can never find happiness in popularity only in Christ can we find true acceptance. Yet can we really be effective as a Child of God if we are constantly trying to win other’s approval instead of God’s?

Sadly, I also used to believe this lie. I was always the quiet one so it seemed that no ever took notice in me. It is not that I didn’t have anything to say, but I just was too shy to open up. Yet deep inside, I always wanted to be “popular” so I that I could be recognized because I felt like  a nobody. I constantly tried to win everyone’s approval until I found my true worth in Christ. In God I’m so much more than others may perceive me. I do not have to put on a mask and pretend to be someone that I am not in His presence. He already knows my weaknesses, faults, my ups and my downs, even to how many hairs are upon my head (and if you have seen my hair…it is a LOT).  Gods loves me despite what I am and will be. tumblr_lrhsxaAnOJ1qb7qbj.jpgI’m so precious in His sight…and so are you. Now that I look back on my life, I’m so glad that I was never in the “IT” crowd. They did so many crazy and stupid things just to keep their popularity in school that it was annoying. Yes there are times that I fall prey to this
lie, but I’m thankful for God’s grace that rescures me every time. Once you finally gain that fame you have to find a way to keep the focus on you. To me that was just a waste of time. Popularity only lasts for a moment…(trust me it does) but God’s love lasts forever. I rather be remembered for something worth while instead of just five minutes of fame worth nothing.

So be free t0 be you!

The real you!

So What Do You Think?

