2016, Are You Ready?


105Just a few more hours and it will finally be 2016! A totally new year. For me, 2015 has been a blessed year despite of the ups and downs that I have faced. Nevertheless, God has been with me every step of the way. From graduating high school and now finishing my first semester in college, I am so ready for this next season in my life. Are you?

2016 is almost here and I am excited of what God has planned. Every year, everyone talks about their New Year Resolutions and what they plan on accomplishing or doing better than they had the previous year. Some desire to loose weight, others plan on becoming a better person, or to totally change their outlook on life. I have a pretty hefty list on what I want to accomplish on this year, but my main goal is to become closer to God than I ever had before and to become more like Him. It sounds simple enough, but I never knew how much I would be challenged just for that decision.

Looking at the news lately makes it seem that the future is just full of disaster and turmoil. I have never seen so much pain, heartache, killing, and crime blasting on the the TV screen as I have this year. It makes it seem too frightening to even walk out the door not knowing the uncertainty that awaits us.

black-woman-window.jpgI remember right when I graduated high school, I was full of anxiety instead of peace because I was so terrified of what was going to happen next. Although I had my plans, my dreams, and I was accepted to my dream college (Go Gamecocks!), the future for me was still full of uncertainty. I was frightened of if I would somehow fail God while I was in school. I have seen many of my friends and those who I had look up to who had went to college before me drop out, fall for various temptations, and eventually just leave God. I did not want that for myself. However, it still hurt me to see that happen to others. But I have learned that I must keep my eyes on Jesus rather on people because man will fail you. 

And that is who I have been keeping my eyes on during this journey. Jesus. It is very tempting to follow the crowd, to think the way everyone else think because it is “popular”, and to lay down my standards, but because my eyes is on Jesus instead of others, it is easier to stand strong in God despite of the obstacles.

I am truly thankful for God’s promises which have kept me standing strong and that will continue to build me up in 2016. I pray that these verses will also encourage you as well.

In Isaiah 40:30-13, it says

“Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall;but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

This verse tells us that even though others around you may be falling all around you, keep your hope in God because He will strengthen you in your most troublesome times. This has been true for me in so many cases. When I felt like giving up, every time I just simply asked God for strength, He would do just that. Why? Because He loves us.

Jeremiah 29:11 (ESV) says that

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Although there is so much going wrong around us in this world, it is not God’s plan for us to fear and to have pain in this life. Instead, He has a plan for each and every one of us to have a bright future. We just have to keep the faith and trust in Him.

And lastly, one of my favorite verses in the Bible in Proverbs 3:5-6 NIV

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

If we just simply trust God, with all of our hearts and do not doubt Him. Just trust Him and try not to go on our own way, God will make the path clear to us. This is so true in my life, especially after I left high school. Like I said earlier, I as so full of uncertainty about the future and dreading about failing Him until God made me remember this promise to me (and to you!) And since it is a promise, I have seen Him fulfill His Word in my life. Just looking back at my life, I just know I could not have made it this far without Him. Even now, He has made the path so clear to me of what He desires me to do that I am not afraid of the future anymore. In fact, I am ready for it!

So for 2016, I my main objective is to just keep TRUSTING in God and to not go my own way. As I desire to be more like Him, I trust that He will help shape me in the woman of God He wants me to be. To become His Girl!

So 2016, Are you ready…for me!

VitaFavo.com-Confident-Black-Woman-Featured-Image-Stock.png

So what are you guys excited about 2016? Any New Year resolutions or testimonies from 2015? Please comment below. I love hearing from you all!

 

So What Do You Think?

