What I Do While Waiting to Say “I Do”


I write numerous posts regarding purity and waiting until marriage, mostly from a girl’s perspective, however I know many of you may wonder if there are actually guys out there who are waiting as well. In this post, I was able to get a guy’s perspective regarding purity and wanted to share it with you all. He is a dear friend of mine and I can personally say that he is man after God’s heart.  

“How can a young person stay on the path of purity? By living according to your word.”( Psalms 119:9 KJV)

unknown

What I Do While Waiting to Say “I Do”

Ah, marriage! It’s the most beautiful thing to show your commitment to the one you love. It’s sacred and a goal that everyone dreams of achieving. However, in this new age, marriage seems to be the furthest thing from some minds, most being men. Lately, it’s all about who can get the most girls and sex outside of marriage is becoming normal for young men to do. Fear not! No matter what’s currently happening, there are still men out there who are holding themselves for marriage and keeping themselves for the one woman they want to spend the rest of their lives with. How do I know? This is a fact because I can proudly say that I am one of those men. Here are some timageshings that I do before getting to the ultimate “I Do.”

  1. Develop a relationship with God

There is no way that a relationship with a woman can be pure and true without first having a pure and true relationship with God. Without God, you will always choose the wrong one and end up in an unhappy marriage. He is an awesome teacher about relationships. His Word is filled with many lessons about keeping yourself, how to treat someone, even how to love in the God sense. I’m a firm believer that God will keep you and guide you to the right woman for you.


2. Keep my flesh under control

Guys, it’s perfectly natural to have feelings for the opposite sex. There is nothing wrong with seeing a woman and acknowledging that she’s pretty or you like the way she carries herself. The wrong thing to do is lust after women, meaning to let sexual thoughts enter your mind and then acting on it. That’s satisfying your flesh. If you repeatedly let this happen, holding yourself for marriage is no longer a priority and sex outside marriage will become a common thing to do. Let’s keep the flesh under control by things of those things that are good, pure, true, and of good report (as stated in the Bible)

Philippians 4:8 NIV
Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.

3. Avoid temptations at all cost!

Joseph, from the Bible, is a perfect example. While working, his owner’s wife came on to him and wanted him to sleep with her, but remembering that it’s an ungodly thing to sleep with another man’s wife, he refused. And guess what? God honored him for that.
It’s awesome to keep yourself for marriage, but that doesn’t mean that you won’t be faced with temptations. Don’t let the words of some women trick you. Never trust yourself alone with a girl because, believe it or not, you are not strong enough to do that. Go out on group dates. Don’t give yourself any possible way to fall into temptation. Remember that if you have the relationship with God, He won’t let you fall for it.

Without doing these 3 things, I wouldn’t have been able to uphold my promise to hold myself for marriage to the right woman. I believe that the perfect woman for me is out there, but until God guides me to her, my focus will be on God.

What about you?

unknown

Hi, my name is Davon Reed and believe it or not, I’m 21 years old. I am a college junior studying information systems and I am also an aspiring minister. Most importantly, I LOVE JESUS and He Loves Me! 

10501831_326383690866263_7375341151929399473_n

So What Do You Think?

