Having a Cold Is So Not Fun!


1

Lately around campus it seems that EVERYONE is getting sick. I keep hearing the constant barking, sneezing, and sniffing all around me. It gets worse when I see someone coughing without even covering their mouths! Ugh! (I am sorry, I just had to rant about that. I am a germaphobe)

I remember becoming sick before the Christmas break and remembering all of the good times when I was able breathe out of both of my nostrils. Do you know what I mean? At first, being sick  was a good excuse to get out of my morning class (for the first day) but after having a headache and constantly blowing my nose almost every five minutes, I think I would have rather gone to my Latin class instead.

I did feel a little better once I took some medicine at night so that I could finally sleep in peace. During this whole ordeal I was constantly drinking orange juice, trying to rest, and taking  medicine so that my physical body could feel better. I mean who wouldn’t? Now that I look back on that I wonder do I go to the extra mile to make sure that my spirit is well?

k
Sometimes we are so distracted by school, work, and with our daily lives that we fail to really focus on our spiritual lives. I have to admit by the end of my last semester that I found myself praying less than I should have because I was so preoccupied with my school and work load. I was spending more time with other things instead of with my heavenly Father. I should have remembered Matthew 6:33. I really love the New Living Translation’s version when it says:

“Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.”

We have to remember that we are a spirit living in an earthly suit. Our bodies will not live forever, but our spirits will. So instead of fretting about my to-do list, my spiritual life should be my main priority because that is what truly matters at the end of the day. God will have all that I need taken care of when I place my focus upon Him instead. I actually began to find out that when I begin my mornings with my Heavenly Father that my days feel less hectic and I feel more confident. I can testify that when I place my focus on God that He will take care of you no matter what situation it may be.

When we are physically sick we usually go to the doctor to find out what is wrong with us. However, I found out that when we begin to feel our spiritual lives going down, we don’t seem to go to our Doctor to find a remedy. I believe that sometimes we truly do not want to see how really sick we are spiritually or want to deal with some of our faults. Maybe we think that as Christians that we have to always be perfect. However, although we are striving towards perfection, we are not there yet. We have our faults, our misdemeanors, yet God is more than willing to help us get on the right track when we seem to walk so far from it.

Isaiah 43:18-19 NKJV “Do not remember the former things,

Nor consider the things of old.Behold, I will do a new thing,Now it shall spring forth; Shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness And rivers in the desert.

How to Maintain Spiritual Health:

You may have already heard these things before, however, I realized that when I failed to unknowndo one of these that I saw myself losing depths in God than I have should if I stayed faithful. However, it does not matter where you are in your life, you can never be too far that God cannot bring you closer towards Him and make you well!

*1. Pray continuously

God truly knows what we need to be spiritually well. Most of the time when I am praying for one specific thing, God will show me what I need to work on within me. Yet, with His help and strength, we can do all things through Christ who gives us the strength. (Philippians 4:13 KJV). My pastor reminded me that if I don’t do anything else during the day that I should always pray!

“Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saint.” Ephesians 6:18

*2.  Keep your Head in the Word of God

“How can a young person stay on the path of purity?
By living according to your word.” Psalm 119:9 KJV

“Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’” Matthew 4:4 NIV

*3. Hang around with other STRONG believers

Hebrews 10:25 NIV “not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”

Unknown.jpg

What helps you maintain your spiritual health? Have you ever found yourself in a spiritual slump? Please comment below! I love to hear from you, guys!

2 thoughts on “Having a Cold Is So Not Fun!

So What Do You Think?

